Calendar of gene regulation events online

 

The calendar below lists webinars and virtual meetings relevant to gene regulation. All times below are in BST (British Summer Time). The link to export these events to Outlook or Google Calendar is at the bottom of this page. The calendar below includes all virtual events related to gene regulation, not limited to those organised by Fragile Nucleosome. To add your own virtual event that is not yet in our list, fill in this form. For a list of traditional (non-virtual) conferences in the area of gene regulation, see the separate page “conferences, meetings and schools”. Also, have a look at complementary lists of webinars at #KeepScienceGoing as well as The Node (developmental biology and related subjects) and mathseminars.org (mathematics & physics including biomathematics & biophysics).

 

Loading Events

« All Events

Biological Physics of Chromosomes, KITP Program

June 15 - July 17

Free

Biological Physics of Chromosomes, The Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics in Santa Barbara, June 15 – July 17, 2020.

Coordinators: Alexander Grosberg, Ralf Everaers and Alexandra Zidovska

Week 1

Monday June 15, 8am PST Welcoming Remarks, Meet & Greet

Tuesday June 16, 8am PST Cees Dekker, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
“SMC proteins for DNA loop extrusion and phase separation””

Thursday June 18, 8am PST Irina Solovei, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany
“Spatial organization of transcribed eukaryotic genes”

Friday June 19, 8am PST Discussion

Week 2
Monday June 22, 8am PST Meet & Greet

Tuesday June 23, 8am PST Job Dekker, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, USA
“Building the compartmentalized interphase nucleus”

Thursday June 25, 8am PST Leonid Mirny, MIT, USA
“Two mechanisms of chromosome organization: loop extrusion and
compartmentalization”

Friday June 26, 8am PST Discussion

Week 3
Monday June 29, 8am PST Meet & Greet

Tuesday June 30, 8am PST Helmut Schiessel, Leiden University, Netherlands
“Demultiplexing information written along DNA molecules”

Wednesday July 1, 8am PST Krastan Blagoev, National Science Foundation, USA
“NSF Funding Opportunities”

Thursday July 2, 8am PST Clodagh O’Shea, Salk Institute, USA
“TBA”

Week 4
Monday July 6, 8am PST Meet & Greet

Tuesday July 7, 8am PST Sam Safran, Weizmann Institute, Israel
“Nuclear-scale chromatin organization modified by lamin layer attractions
and hydration effects”

Thursday July 9, 8am PST Changbong Hyeon, Korea Institute for Advanced Study, South Korea
“Polymer physics perspective on the chromatin inside cell nuclei”

Friday July 10, 8am PST Discussion

Week 5
Monday July 13, 8am PST Meet & Greet

Tuesday July 14, 8am PST Krastan Blagoev, National Science Foundation and John Hopkins
University, USA
“Nonequilibrium phase separation in a cooperative reaction-diffusion model”

Thursday July 16, 8am PST Arup Chakraborty, MIT, USA
“RNA-mediated non-equilibrium feedback regulation of transcription”

Friday July 17, 8am PST Discussion, Closing Remarks

Details

Start:
June 15
End:
July 17
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,
Website:
https://www.kitp.ucsb.edu/activities/chromosomes20

Organizer

KITP
Website:
https://www.kitp.ucsb.edu/